As many of you know, this past week I went through formal recruitment at Mizzou. Let me start off by saying that formal recruitment is not for the faint of heart. I’m not saying that to scare anyone, but this week was an absolute whirlwind of emotions. I went from jumping with excitement over a chapter, to crying over a bad conversation, to losing sleep thinking, “What if I don’t get a bid?” However, today when I opened my bid card and ran home to Phi Mu, I felt nothing but absolute joy over the past week that I spent looking for a place like Phi Mu.

I had no idea what recruitment was going to be like when I moved into my dorm on Sunday and attended my first Pi Chi meeting. Unlike a lot of girls, I had no prior knowledge of any of the sororities, my family had never been involved in Greek life, and I honestly didn’t know much about the process.

The first two days of recruitment, referred to as “Open House Round,” was beyond overwhelming. I visited 15 chapters who began their visit with a chant of their choice. When I visited that first house, all I could think was, “What have I gotten myself into?” Thankfully, by the end of day 1, not only had I gotten the hang of the process, but I had met some amazing girls that, unknown to me at the time, would become my sisters.

The week itself was a blur, and as each round began and ended, I was able to pick apart each chapter and figure out what I did and didn’t want in a house. A lot of this was thanks to my amazing Pi Chis (disaffiliated sorority members who were here to help us PMNs through the process). As preferencing my chapters became harder and harder, my new found friends and Pi Chis were always there to lend a shoulder or an ear so I could voice my concerns.

Thankfully, by the end of the week, I was down to my final two chapters. Two chapters that I loved equally and I just couldn’t choose. So, you know what I did? I flipped a coin. I left it up to fate. And fate didn’t let me down because when I opened my bid card and saw “Phi Mu” written across the top, tears sprang to my eyes, and I ran home.

My advice to anyone going through formal recruitment is this. Trust the system. I know that sounds dumb. I know it sounds ridiculous because I thought so, too. But, the house that I am now so privileged to be a part of, is not the house that I thought at the end of Open House Round. Also, listen to your heart. You’ll know in the back of your mind at the end of the week where you’re supposed to be. Even though I left it up to fate to decide where I wanted to go, when I was waiting to open my bid card, I wanted it to be Phi Mu.

The conversations that I had, the girls that I met, the atmosphere that Phi Mu gave off was all that I wanted when looking for a house. I found my home. I found my best friends. And most importantly, I found my sisters today.

Here I am, a week later, in the sisterhood that I was looking for, but never thought I’d find.

“I’m a Phi Mu. She’s a Phi Mu. Don’t you wanna be a Phi Mu?”

ΦΜ

Leave a Reply

